Menu
Home Page
Oatlands Junior School Caring about today, creating successful tomorrows.
Search
Close
Translate
Close
We are Oatlands Juniors. We're Amazing!

Weir's Weekly Review

November 9th 2018

Picture 1
Preeti Chandrashekar, William Sewell, Ava Summerscales, India Melville, Woody Auld, Katey Sewell, Eddie Cooper, Aidan Maclennan, Grace Brierley, Annabel Vincent, Grace Firth.

October 26th 2018

Picture 1
Bella Drew, Noah Kendrew, Florence Plowright-Hall, Liam Walker, Daisy O'Connell, Charlotte Bearne, Anna Kirkup, Joseph Isherwood, Molly Wainwright, Kian Hollingsworth, Jack Sutcliffe, Lucas Harrison.
A wonderful variety of work was presented by the children in this week’s review. The Homework menu projects were particularly impressive because of the creative, individual ways the children approached the tasks. We heard thoughtful reflective RE writing on ‘Helping Others’ from our Harvest donations to Harrogate Homeless. Magical maths work solving division and subtraction problems and super science work explaining the water cycle, were proudly shared by the children. Finally, we listened to enchanting diary writing where vocabulary choices created atmosphere and historic events very effectively. A delightful way to end this half-term. Well done!                                               Miss Weir

19th October 2018

Picture 1
Ewan Rhodes, Jay Cartwright, Ella Marsh, Amelia Darcy, Emma Rogers, Winnie Mackenzie, Yasmine Lovell, Ellis Wilkinson, James Beagley, Lizzie Kirkham, Adam ElAzzab, Hassan, Jamie Broadhead.

17th October 2018

In this week’s review, Y5 children shared their informative and persuasive leaflets, based on the trip to Eden Camp last week. Y3 and Y4 children were impressed at the layout and interesting facts contained within these leaflets. Y4 children shared fantastic rainforest animal poems and received praise from their peers for their effective use of similes. Edited English work by Y3 children showed how much they had improved their writing, which they were clearly proud of. And finally, a Y4 budding scientist wrote a detailed conclusion explaining the results of her science investigation. It is wonderful to see these achievements creatively displayed around our school. Well done!            Miss Weir
Picture 1
Holly Linford, Ben Kennedy-Bruyneels, Florence Williams, Olivia Moyser, Ruby Oliver, Ava Peat, Abigail Scaife, Millie Munton.

5th October 2018

National Poetry Day on Thursday certainly inspired some very creative and descriptive writing. The range of poetry and use of different techniques to create imagery was impressive and were read with beautiful expression. Other work that was celebrated included letters of thank you to our visitor who delivered the Egyptian workshop; a ‘Code for Life’ showing thoughtful reflections in RE; an informative East Barnby homework booklet and some magic Maths! Teachers also sent children who have been exceptional role models, demonstrating superb attitudes and learning behaviours. Well done! Miss Weir

Picture 1

Livvy D'Alessandro-Rixon, Sula Stanhope, Annabel Washer, Claudia Marshall, Archie Kemp, Liv Whitehead,

Penelope McCreanor, Amina Ndikimana, Anna Burgess, Flossie Linford, Blake Wade, Ella Chen.

28th September 2018

‘We love to learn’ is one of our Oatlands Junior values. The enthusiasm and pride shown by all the children when they presented work done both at home and school, really put a smile on my face. This was especially so with children who had worked alongside family members to research relatives, who lived through World War 2. Great examples of how home and school can promote life-long learning, by working in partnership. Children who showed their achievements in Maths and Science explained their reasoning very clearly using key vocabulary. Finally, the year group Book Study has sparked the children’s interest and imagination, which could be seen through their creative writing descriptions. Well done to all the children who were selected by their class teachers for this week’s Review!
Picture 1

Ruby Kitchen, William Orr, Elliot Hollingsworth, Lahna Macklewain-James, Tom Gibbin, Holly Hough, Kai Barwick, Reuben Thomas, Evie Holding, Annabel Voros, Ellie Robson, Lara Clark.

21st September 2018

This week the children were keen to ask each other questions about their learning, prompting interesting discussion. I was presented with a beautifully drawn Egyptain cartouche with ‘Weir’ written in hieroglyphics, which is now displayed in my office. The children are clearly enjoying learning about the Ancient Egyptians and WW2; their depth of knowledge and understanding is impressive. We listened to wonderfully descriptive and engaging story openings as well as clearly explained predictions for science investigations. All the children were awarded with stickers, juice and cake as a well-earned treat. A fabulous Review!

Picture 1

Owen Flatley-Skaife, Isla Bramley, Jessie Thomas, Kiera Lister, Arthur Wainwright, Emmie Fox, Freya Rhodes,

Ashton Swann, Jonny Whewell, Elliot Campbell, Thomas Taylor, Bea Taylor.

14th September 2018

The first Weir’s Weekly Review of the new school year was superb! Class teachers have the difficult job each week of choosing one child to share work that has really impressed them. The children enjoyed juice and chocolate cake whilst discussing their work and each got a special sticker for their achievements. Always the highlight of my week. Well done! Miss Weir

Picture 1
Shona Colvin, Ellie Simpson, Ryan Dyson, Henry Beagley, Ezekiel Waring, Alfie Clarke, Ethan Wilkinson, Isla Gouldson, William Daniels-Ohaegbu, Thomas Bentley.

Find Us

  • Oatlands Junior School
  • Beechwood Grove, Harrogate,
  • North Yorkshire, HG2 8QP
View Google Map
Top